The Caucasus, or better, the South Caucasus, consists of three countries, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan. When living in SE Turkey in 1994 we attempted, without success, to cross into Armenia. We subsequently traveled to the surrounding countries, Iran and those in Central Asia, and only returned to the South Caucasus in 2019, for a relatively short trip in Azerbaijan and Eastern part of Georgia. We returned in 2022, to complete our exploration of this part of the world, including Western Georgia, the Black Sea coast and Armenia.

When we travel to the North Caucasus – essentially the wild Russian republics of Dagestan, Chechnia and Ingushetia, as well as Karachay–Cherkessia, Kabardino-Balkaria and North Ossetia–Alania – I don’t know yet, but this may well not happen at all…

Access the individual countries below, and the travel blog from autumn 2019 here.


And look at our return trip, the travel blog of 2022, here.


There is also a Caucasus reading list, with some good and some not so good books.

where we went on our second Caucasus trip, summer 2022
where we traveled in September 2019, as part of the first South Caucasus journey
Tbilisi and the eastern part of this country, visited in September 2019, and the west and Black Sea coast in August 2022